Basketball Spicy Sporting Events Travel

NCAA March Madness: 2019 Women’s DI Championships

NCAA March Madness starts in just a few weeks. For the women’s championships, a number of questions are on the table. Will Notre Dame repeat? Or, can Connecticut reclaim the crown that has eluded them the past two seasons?

According to the NCAA, 345 Division I women’s basketball teams are eligible for NCAA March Madness. 64 teams ultimately will compete in the single elimination tournament with 32 teams receiving automatic bids. The Division I Women’s Basketball Championship Sport Committee will decide the rest.

Dates and tickets for the 2019 Division I Women’s Basketball Championship regionals and Final Four are available now. First and second rounds will be held at 16 campus sites announced on Monday, March 18. Four teams will play at each site, with the winning team from each site advancing to the regionals.

Dates, Location and Tickets

Here’s the NCAA March Madness women’s tournament schedule and ticket information for the regional and championship rounds.


  • Albany, NY: March 29 & 31 Tickets
  • Portland, OR: March 29 & 31 Tickets
  • Chicago, IL: March 30 & April 1 Tickets
  • Greensboro, NC: March 30 & April 1 Tickets

Final Four

April 5 & 7: Tampa Florida Tickets (Semifinals) (All Sessions)

Teams in the Hunt

Chloe Jackson of Baylor dribbles in a recent game against Kansas.
Chloe Jackson of Baylor and her teammates seek a national championship.

Over the last three years, different teams wore the championship crown: Notre Dame (2018), Mississippi State (2017) and Connecticut (2016). (See a full list of winners since 1982 here.)

The poll on Jan. 13 shows Notre Dame at the number one spot, with Connecticut and Baylor tied for second. Rounding out the top 10 are Louisville, Oregon, Stanford, Mississippi State, North Carolina State, Maryland and Oregon State.

Holding on to spots in the top 25 are Texas, Syracuse, Gonzaga, Marquette, South Carolina, Kentucky, Michigan State, Iowa State, Arizona State, Tennessee, Rutgers, Iowa, Minnesota, DePaul and Indiana. Lurking outside the poll are Florida State, Utah, Butler, Texas A&M, Missouri, California, Georgia, Central Michigan, Drake, South Dakota, Auburn, UCF, Clemson, Purdue and Arizona.

(Read all our articles on major sporting events here.)

Follow Us On Social Media

Subscribe to our mailing list

* indicates required

0 comments on “NCAA March Madness: 2019 Women’s DI Championships

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: